Wednesday, July 17, 2024

Voter apathy mars Taraba by-election 


There is general voter apathy in the ongoing poll for the House of Representatives bye-election to fill the vacant seat of the Jalingo/Yorro/Zing Federal Constituency.

The ongoing bye-election followed the death of  Ismaila Maihanchi who won the February 25  2023 election.

In many of the polling units visited, there were scanty voters sighted, as electoral officials were waiting for voters as of 12.30 pm.

This is even as residents of Jalingo and Zing towns complied with the vehicular movement restriction as ordered by the police.

The major contenders in the election are Sadiq Abbas of the Peoples Democratic Party, Aminu Liman of the New Nigerian Peoples Party, and Aminu Malle of the All Progressives Congress.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH.

Contact: [email protected]


Leave a Response