Thursday, June 13, 2024

Victor Osimhen: Nigeria striker wins Italian players' player of the year award –


Victor Osimhen has been hit by injury this season but has six goals in 10 league outings for Napoli
Nigeria striker Victor Osimhen has been crowned the Italian footballers' association player of the year for his Napoli performances last season.
The Super Eagles star was presented with the award on Monday night after helping his side win their first league title in 33 years.
Osimhen scored 26 Serie A goals in 2022-23, breaking George Weah's record as the highest-scoring African in the Italian top flight in the process.
The former Lille and Wolfsburg striker became the first African to ever win the AIC award, joining the likes of Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Andrea Pirlo, Cristiano Ronaldo and last year's winner Rafael Leao as recipients of the prize.
"Thank you for the recognition and awards, thank you my family, friends and supporters for your votes and unending support," Osimhen, who was also included in the Serie A team of the year, said in a message posted on X., external
Osimhen has been hit by injury this season but the 24-year-old has scored six goals in 10 league games, having returned to action for Walter Mazzari's side as a substitute in the win against Atalanta on 25 November.
With the AIC award following his eighth-placed finish in the 2023 men's Ballon d'Or, the striker will hope to become the first Nigerian player to claim the Confederation of African Football (Caf) men's player of the year trophy since former Arsenal forward Nwankwo Kanu did so in 1999.
Meanwhile, it was double delight for Africa as Malawi international Tabitha Chawinga won the AIC's women's prize after she finished as the domestic top scorer last season with 23 goals for Inter Milan.
The 27-year-old striker, who is now on loan at Paris St-Germain, was the first African woman to be the highest-scoring player in Serie A Femminile.
However, Chawinga has been surprisingly overlooked by Caf for its African women's player of the year award, missing out from the shortlist of nominees.
The winners of the Caf awards will be announced on Monday, 11 December in Marrakesh, Morocco.
'Henderson's Saudi exit ends miserable episode'
Step inside the 'pain cave', where rules are remade
Egypt hit back twice to draw with Ghana after Salah injury
Where do we begin?
India Rakusen explores a child's journey from fertilisation to first birthday
The twists and turns of Catherine the Great's reign
David Mitchell joins Greg Jenner to find out what kind of ruler the empress really was
Director Michael Mann on his new film, Ferrari
Plus, America Ferrera discusses her role in Barbie and Cher on how autotune changed pop
The women's super league returns!
Ben Haines and Ellen White are joined by Rachel Corsie to preview the return of the WSL
Step inside the 'pain cave', where rules are remade
Pick your England XV for the Six Nations
Wood's extra-time winner sees Forest beat Blackpool. Video
Gatland unsure if 'freak' Rees-Zammit will crack NFL
Hooker George to captain England in Six Nations
'You should be so curious' – Chelsea players reveal phone secrets. Video
Conway pounces to give Bristol City early lead over West Ham. Video
Great Premier League moments in the snow. Video
Scary to be disabled in Britain now – Cockroft
Overhead kick from outside box wins Puskas award. Video
Will there be 'chaos' at end of Premier League season?
Running across 'Mars' – a rebel race into the unknown
'Mismanagement on a grand scale – trauma on a loop at Everton'
'Painful to watch' – has 'flat' Murray started his goodbyes?
Skills, spies and nutmegs – 2 Good 2 Bad. Video
O'Sullivan completes comeback to win eighth Masters title. Video
© 2024 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read about our approach to external linking.


Leave a Response